College, State & Federal Sanctions for Violation of Alcohol and Drug Policies/Laws

College, State & Federal Sanctions for Violation of Alcohol and Drug Policies/Laws

Students not using alcohol or other drugs themselves, but knowingly associating with other students or student groups who are violating the College’s Alcohol and Other Drug (AOD) policy, will be subject to the same disciplinary action as those students who were actually violating the college AOD policy.

Undesirable conduct stemming from off-campus usage of AODA is subject to disciplinary action by DACC. Any individual, group or organization which permits undesirable conduct stemming from off-campus AOD usage is subject to disciplinary action by the College.

Students are not allowed to transport or consume alcoholic beverages before or during college sponsored trips. Further individuals are not permitted to participate in college sponsored events on or off campus after drinking and when intoxicated.

Illinois Sanctions for Violation of Alcohol Control Statutes

235 Illinois Compiled Statutes 5/6-20

  • Class A Misdemeanor – unlawful use of a identification card
  • Class 4 Felony – fictitious or unlawfully altered identification card
  • Class 4 Felony – fraudulent identification card
  • Class B Misdemeanor to possess or sell alcohol if you are under 21*
  • Class A Misdemeanor to see, give, or deliver alcohol to individuals under 21 years of age. Local ordinances may also be enforced.

Class A Misdemeanors are punishable with a fine of $1 to $2,500 and up to one-year in the county jail.

Class B Misdemeanors are punishable with a fine of $1 to $1,500 and up to six-months in the county jail.

  • These violations may also result in one's driver's license being administratively revoked or suspended by the Illinois Secretary of State's office.

Illinois Sanctions for Driving Under the Influence

(625 Illinois Compiled Statutes 5/11-501)

  1. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof

    1. First Conviction:

      1. Minimum of one-year loss of full driving privileges
      2. Possible imprisonment for up to one-year
      3. Maximum fine of $2,500
    2. Second Conviction:

      1. Minimum five-year loss of full driving privileges for a second conviction in a 20-year period
      2. Mandatory five days imprisonment or 240 hours of community services
      3. Possible imprisonment for up to one-year
      4. Maximum fine of $2,500
    3. Third Conviction (Class 2 Felony):

      1. Minimum 10-year loss of full driving privileges
      2. Mandatory 18-30 month periodic imprisonment
      3. Possible imprisonment for up to 7 years
      4. Maximum fine of $25,000
    4. Aggravated DUI (Class 4 Felony/following a crash resulting in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement):

      1. Minimum of 1-year loss of full driving privileges
      2. Sub Mandatory ten days imprisonment or 480 hours of cummunity service
      3. Possible imprisonment for up to 12 years
      4. Maximum fine of $25,000
  2. Other Alcohol Offenses

    1. Providing alcohol to a person under age 21

      1. Possible imprisonment for up to one year
      2. Maximum fine of $2,500
    2. Illegal transportation of an alcoholic beverage

      1. Maxiumum fine of $1,000
      2. Point-assigned violation will be entered on drivers record
      3. Driver's license suspension for a second conviction in a 12-month period
    3. Knowingly permitting a driver under the influence to operate a vehicle

      1. Possible imprisonment for up to one-year
      2. Maximum fine of $2,500
    4. Summary Suspension:

      1. First offense

        1. A chemical test indication of a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory six-month driver's license suspension
        2. Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) in a twelve-month suspension
      2. Subsequent offenses

        1. A chemical test indicating a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory one-year driver's license suspension
        2. Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) results in a three-year license suspension.