DACC’s Community Education Fall 2019 Classes

DACC’s Community Education Fall 2019 Classes

Danville Area Community College’s Community Education department offers many classes and trips for Fall 2019 including art & hobbies, business, career programs, college preparation, computer classes, cooking,  couponing, custodial technician training, dancing, dog obedience, driving, fitness, floral design, food service, gardening/lawn, grant writing, internet, middle and high school students, photography, Boomers & Seniors, Lunch & Learn series, day trips and tours and an international trip.

For a complete listing of classes with course description, visit www.dacc.edu/cce. For more information call 217-554-1667 or 217-554-1668 or email cce@dacc.edu.

Register online at www.dacc.edu/cce or in person at the Community Education Office at the Village Mall, 2917 N. Vermilion St., Danville.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fall 2019 Community Education Classes:

JULY 2019
• Painting Tiles; Thurs., July 25 & Aug. 1; 6-9PM; CT-11; $40. (fun activity for school-aged kids too)
• SAT College Testing Preparation Class: six weeks – two English, two math, two days of pre and post-tests (no science on SAT) Sat., July 27-Aug. 31; Mall; 9AM-Noon. SAT test day at DACC is Oct. 6. To register for the test visit: www.collegeboard.org. SAT Fee: $140 includes book
• DACC Walking Club; Mon., July 29; $5; Depart DACC at 10AM

AUGUST 2019
• Grant Writing 101; Sat., Aug. 3; 9AM-5PM; Bremer; $55
• PowerPoint; Mon.-Fri., Aug. 5-9; 9-11:30AM; Mall; $96
• Line Dancing; Mon., Aug. 5-Sept. 9; 5:30-6:30; MM Dance Studio; $50
• Boomers & Seniors: Intro to the Smart Phone - iPhone - Tues., Aug. 6; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Trips & Tours: Buddy - The Buddy Holly Show - Beef and Boards - Wed., Aug. 7; $65
• Grant Writing 102; Sat., Aug. 10; 9AM-5PM; Bremer; $55
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablets for Beginners - Kindle Fire - Wed., Aug. 14; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablet, What? - Thurs., Aug. 15; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Couponing Basics; Thurs., Aug. 15; 4-6PM; Theater; $20
• Pottery; Thurs., Aug. 15-Oct. 3; 6-9PM; CT-117; $115
• Fall Vegetable Gardening: Extending your Harvest; Sat., Aug. 17; 9-10:30AM; $15; Julius W. Hegeler II Ornamental Horticulture Building
• Fitness Boot Camp; Tues. & Thurs., Aug. 20-Oct. 10; Noon-1:15PM; MM Dance Studio; $99
• Wooden Sign Creation - Fall Sign; Thurs., Aug. 22; 6-9PM; Mall; $40
• Painting Tiles; Thurs, Aug. 22 & 29; 6-9PM; CT-11; $40
• Cricut® - Custom Coffee Mug; Thurs., Aug. 22; 1-3PM; Mall; $15
• DACC Walking Club; Mon., Aug. 26; $5; Depart DACC at 10AM
• Understanding College Testing; Tues., Aug. 27; 6-8PM; Mall; FREE
• Trips & Tours: Indianapolis Zoo - Tues., Aug. 27; $40
• Cooking: Chinese Basics; Fri., Aug. 30; 5:30-8:30PM; MM-300; $40

SEPTEMBER 2019
• Crocheting for Beginners; Tues., Sept. 3-Oct. 8; 5:30-7:30PM; VH-102; $75
• Custodial Technician Training; Tues.-Thurs., Sept. 3-24; 4-5:30PM; LH-213; $250
• Word - Level II; Tues., Sept. 3-24; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Windows 10; Tues., Sept. 3-10; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $48
• Middle & High School Students - Study Skills; Tues., Sept. 3-10; 5:30-7:30PM; Mall; $40 includes book
• Photography the Basics; Tues., Sept. 3-Oct. 22; 6-8PM; Mall; $128
• Boomers & Seniors: Intro to the Smart Phone - Android - Tues., Sept. 3; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablet, What? - Wed., Sept. 4; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Trips & Tours: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat - Wed., Sept. 4; $55
• Boomers & Seniors: Digital Photo Storage - Thurs., Sept. 5; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• eBay; Thurs., Sept. 5-12; 6-9PM; Mall; $45
• Excel - Level I; Thurs., Sept. 5-26; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Access; Thurs., Sept. 5-26; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Basic Sewing; Thurs., Sept. 5-Oct. 24; 6-8PM; Mall; $65
• Beautiful and Sustainable Lawns; Wed., Sept. 5; 6-7:30PM; $15; Julius W. Hegeler II Ornamental Horticulture Building
• College Readiness; Thurs., Sept. 5-12; 5:30-7:30PM; Mall; $40 includes book
• ACT College Testing Preparation Class: six weeks – two English, one math, one science, two days of pre and post-tests
• Sat., Sept. 7-Oct. 12; 9AM-Noon. ACT test day at DACC is Oct. 27. To register for the test visit: www.act.org. ACT Fee: $140 includes book.
• The Bulbs of Spring; Sat., Sept. 7; 9-10:30AM; $15; Julius W. Hegeler II Ornamental Horticulture Building
• For Beginners Only; Mon., Sept. 9-30; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Boomers & Seniors: Computer Understanding - Mon.-Fri., Sept. 9-13; 9-11:30AM; $85; Mall
• Boomers & Seniors: Social Networking - Tues., Sept. 10; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Food Service License; Tues., Sept. 10-Oct. 8; 6-9:30PM; Mall; $99
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablets for Beginners - iPad - Wed., Sept. 11; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Knitting for Beginners; Thurs., Sept. 12-Oct. 17; 5:30-7:30PM; VH-102; $75
• Turn Your Hobby into a Business; Thurs., Sept. 12; 6-8PM; Mall; $20
• Understanding College Testing; Thurs., Sept. 12; 6-8PM; Mall; FREE
• Trips & Tours: Fair Oaks Dairy Farm - Fri., Sept. 13; $40
• Dog Obedience Beginners/Initial Class; Mon., Sept. 16-Oct. 28; 6-7PM; $70; David S. Palmer Arena
• Lunch & Learn: Footprints of Those Colorful Vikings - Tuesday, September 17; Lunch 11:15AM; Program Noon; Bremer, Room 141; Cost for lunch and presentation $12.
• Cricut® - Craft Corner Corny Pillow; Thurs., Sept. 19; 1-3PM; Mall; $30
• Middle & High School Students - Test Taking; Thurs., Sept. 19-26; 5:30-7:30PM; Mall; $40 includes book
• Painting Tiles; Thurs., Sept. 19 & 26; 6-9PM; CT-11; $40
• Floral Design: Make and take a Bohemian themed fresh arrangement using a Holly Chapel pillow as an armature. Sat., Sept. 21; 9AM-Noon; $40
• Couponing Basics; Thurs., Sept. 25; 5:30-7:30PM; Theater; $20
• Wooden Sign Creation - Halloween Sign; Thurs., Sept. 26; 6-9PM; Mall; $40
• Trips & Tours: Turkey Run Adventure - Thurs., Sept. 26; $25
• Korean Cooking; Fri., Sept. 27; 5:30-8:30PM; $40
• Boomers & Seniors: Ins and Outs of the Internet – Mon. & Tues., Sept. 30-Oct. 1; 5:30-8:30PM; $45; Mall
• DACC Walking Club; Mon., Sept. 30; $5; Depart DACC at 10AM

OCTOBER 2019
• Word - Level I; Tues., Oct. 1-22; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• PowerPoint; Wed., Oct. 2-23; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Trips & Tours: Hairspray - Beef and Boards - Wed., Oct. 2; $65
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablets for Beginners - Kindle Fire - Wed., Oct. 2; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Vegetables and Flowers for Fall Planting; Sat., Oct. 5; 9-10:30AM; $15; Julius W. Hegeler II Ornamental Horticulture Building
• Grant Writing 101; Sat., Oct. 5; 9AM-5PM; Bremer; $55
• Line Dancing; Mon., Oct. 7-Nov. 18; 5:30-6:30; MM Dance Studio; $50
• Custodial Technician Training; Tues.-Thurs., Oct. 8-29; 4-5:30PM; LH-213; $250
• Composting and Vermicomposting: Recycling with Nature; Wed., Oct. 9; 6:00-7:30PM; $15; Julius W. Hegeler II Ornamental Horticulture Building
• Lunch & Learn: New Zealand and Hawaii – History formed them both - Thursday, October 10; Lunch 11:15AM; Program Noon; Bremer, Room 141; Cost for lunch and presentation $12.
• Grant Writing 102; Sat., Oct. 12; 9AM-5PM; Bremer; $55
• Intermediate Crocheting; Tues., Oct. 15-Nov. 19; 5:30-7:30PM; VH-102; $65
• Pilates; Tues. & Thurs., Oct. 15-Dec. 12; Noon-1:15PM; MM Dance Studio; $99
• Trips & Tours: Covered Bridge Festival - Tues., Oct. 15; $10
• Trips & Tours: Driving Miss Daisy - Myers Dinner Theater - Wed., Oct. 16; $55
• Pottery; Thurs., Oct. 17-Dec. 19; 6-9PM; CT-117;  $115
• Painting Tiles; Thurs., Oct. 17 & 24; 6-9PM; CT-11; $40
• Boomers & Seniors: Intro to the Smart Phone - iPhone - Thurs., Oct. 17; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Floral Design: Make a bright fresh arrangement for “Day of the Dead”, otherwise called All Saint›s Day, using hand made “God eyes;” Sat., Oct. 19; 9AM-Noon; $40
• Trips & Tours: Enjoy Fall Foliage - Thurs., Oct. 24; $20
• Wooden Sign Creation - Thanksgiving Sign; Thurs., Oct. 24; 6-9PM; Mall; $40
• Cricut® - Totally Terrific Tea Towels; Thurs., Oct. 24; 1-3PM; Mall; $20
• Cooking: Asian Vegetarian; Fri., Oct. 25; 5:30-8:30PM; $40

NOVEMBER 2019
• For Beginners Only; Sat., Nov. 2-23; 9AM-Noon; Mall; $96
• Excel - Level II; Mon., Nov. 4-25; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $96
• Boomers & Seniors: Intro to the Smart Phone - Android - Mon., Nov. 4; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Photography: Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0; Tues., Nov. 5-26; 6-8PM; Mall; $64
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablets for Beginners - iPad - Wed., Nov. 6; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Windows 10; Thurs., Nov. 7-14; 5:30-8:30PM; Mall; $48
• Trips & Tours: Christmas Gift and Hobby Show - Thurs., Nov. 7; $30
• Couponing Basics; Sat., Nov. 9; 11AM-1PM; Theater; $20
• Trips & Tours: Inspired Fire - Tues., Nov. 12; $45
• eBay; Tues., Nov. 12-19; 6-9PM; Mall; $45
• Food Service License; Tues., Nov. 12-Dec. 10; 6-9:30PM; Hoopeston; $99
• Boomers & Seniors: Digital Photo Storage - Wed., Nov. 13; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Boomers & Seniors: Tablet, What? - Thurs., Nov. 14; 9AM-Noon; $25; Mall
• Lunch & Learn: Antarctica, Land of Snow and Penguins - Thursday, November 14
• Painting Tiles; Thurs., Nov. 14 & 21; 6-9PM; CT-11; $40
• Floral Design: Make and take a “Moon” Arrangement with white flowers and bling that will be seasonal all year!; Sat., Nov. 16; 9AM-Noon; $40
College Readiness; Mon., Nov. 18-25; 5:30-7:30PM; Mall; $40 includes book
• Excel - Level I; Mon.-Fri., Nov. 18-22; 1-3:30PM; Mall; $96
• Access; Mon.-Fri., Nov. 18-22; 9-11:30AM; Mall; $96
• Boomers & Seniors: Computer Understanding - Mon.-Fri., Nov. 18-22; 9-11:30AM; $85; Mall
• Turn Your Hobby into a Business; Tues., Nov. 19; 6-8PM; Mall; $20
• Wooden Sign Creation - Christmas Sign; Thurs., Nov. 21; 6-9PM; Mall; $40

DECEMBER 2019
• Word - Level I; Mon.-Fri., Dec. 2-6; 9-11:30AM; Mall; $96
• Boomers & Seniors: Social Networking - Mon., Dec. 2; 5:30-8:30PM; $25; Mall
• Boomers & Seniors: Ins and Outs of the Internet - Wed., Dec. 4 & 11; 5:30-8:30PM; $45; Mall
• Trips & Tours: Rialto Christmas: Luncheon and Organ Concert - Wed., Dec. 4 (date may change); $55
• Trips & Tours: 85th Annual Purdue Christmas - Sun., Dec. 8; $55
• Word - Level II; Mon.-Fri., Dec. 9-13; 9-11:30AM; Mall; $96
• Trips & Tours: A Christmas Story - Beef and Boards - Wed., Dec. 11; $65
• Cooking: Asian Soups; Fri., Dec. 13; 5:30-8:30PM; $40
• Floral Design: Make and take a Steeple Botanical with fresh holiday accents; Sat., Dec. 21; 9AM-Noon; $40

MARCH 2020
• Trips & Tours: International Trip Classical Greece - March 15-24, 2020. Call to have a brochure mailed to you.

For a complete listing of classes with course description, visit www.dacc.edu/cce. For more information call 217-554-1667 or 217-554-1668 or email cce@dacc.edu.

Register online at www.dacc.edu/cce or in person at the Community Education Office at the Village Mall, 2917 N. Vermilion St., Danville.

Upcoming Events