Academic Challenge in Engineering and Science (ACES) Competition Held at DACC 8 High Schools Competed

Academic Challenge in Engineering and Science (ACES) Competition Held at DACC 8 High Schools Competed

Danville Area Community College hosted the Academic Challenge in Engineering and Science (ACES) Regional competition, a test of aptitudes in Mathematics and Science, on February, 7, 2023.  The regional competition was sponsored by the Math, Sciences & Health Professions Division at Danville Area Community College.
Students were tested in seven different academic areas which included mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, english, engineering graphics and computer science.  Eight high schools, represented by nearly 115 students, participated.  Teams that have placed second or first, as well as all individuals earning a first or second place in their Division, will be competing in sectional competition on March 9 at Eastern Illinois University. See below for a list of winners.
Academic Challenge in Engineering and Science
Competition Winners
I. Participating High Schools
Armstrong Township, Bismarck-Henning-Rossville-Alvin, Georgetown-Ridge Farm, Hoopeston Area, Milford, Oakwood, Shiloh and Westville.
II. Team Awards – Trophies
Division 300- Small Schools (enrollment less than or equal to 300)
3rd:  Georgetown-Ridge Farm High School
2nd:  Armstrong Township High School
1st:  Milford High School
Division 700- Middle Size Schools (enrollment between 301 and 700)
3rd: Westville High School
2nd: Bismarck-Henning-Rossville-Alvin Cooperative High School
1st: Oakwood High School    

III. Individual Award Winners – 300 Division
A. Math
3rd: Aria Leppard (Milford)
2nd: Carter Borgers (Milford)
1st: Cameron Langellier (Milford)

B. English
3rd:  Lily North (Shiloh), Gigi Mulvaney (Armstrong)
2nd: Maddie Hardwick (Milford), Jeremy Lappin (Georgetown-Ridge Farm)
1st: Landon Freeman (Armstrong)

C. Chemistry
3rd: Rylan Mosier (Georgetown-Ridge Farm)
2nd: Chloe Winslow (Georgetown-Ridge Farm)
1st: Madison Demarse (Milford)

D. Physics
3rd: Donovan Loveall-Lavandoski (Shiloh)
2nd: Kayli Trotter (Shiloh), Andy Houlihan (Shiloh), Zoey Harding (Armstrong)
1st: Landon Freeman (Armstrong)

E. Biology
3rd: Kaylee Blackford (Armstrong)
2nd: Kelsey Blackford (Armstrong), Andy Houlihan (Shiloh), Jack Houlihan (Shiloh), Brenden Cash (Shiloh)
1st: Kenzie Hales (Shiloh)

F. Engineering Graphics
3rd: Noa Rosa (Shiloh)
2nd: Kennedy Brown (Shiloh), Lily Brown (Shiloh)
1st: Levi Ash (Shiloh), Grant North (Shiloh)

G. Computer Science
3rd: Zoey Harding (Armstrong)
2nd: Paul Harms (Milford), Colton Murphy (Armstrong), Alex McCrone (Georgetown-Ridge Farm), Jacob Smith (Shiloh)
1st:  Tanner Steele (Georgetown-Ridge Farm), Carter Borgers (Milford)

IV. Individual Award Winners – 700 Division
A. Math
3rd: Kalie Tison (Oakwood), Natalie Clapp (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)
2nd: Piper Heise (Westville), Tayelor Lowe (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin), Kyle McFarland (Oakwood), Grant Powell (Oakwood), Joshua Gernand (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)
1st: Kevin Clapp (Bismarck-Henning-Rossville-Alvin Cooperative),

B. English
3rd:  Ramona Liggett (Oakwood)
2nd: Eva Rangel (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)
1st: Sean Hudson (Hoopeston)

C. Chemistry
3rd: Aidan Skinner (Westville)
2nd: Emely Goodwin (Oakwood), Levi Tucker (Westville), Alexa Ball (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)
1st: Amber-Christine Reed (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)

D. Physics
3rd: Grant Powell (Oakwood)
2nd: Kyle McFarland (Oakwood)
1st: Joshua Gernand (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)

E. Biology
3rd: Jackson Priest (Westville)
2nd: Jayden Bolton (Hoopeston)
1st: Ethan Richards (Westville)

F. Engineering Graphics
3rd: Aidan Skinner (Westville), Kollin Schrader (Oakwood)
2nd: Gabriel Joneikis (Hoopeston)
1st: Sean Hudson (Hoopeston)

G. Computer Science
3rd: Levi Tucker (Westville), Hannah Smith (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin), Cade Schaumburg (Westville)
2nd: Kollin Schrader (Oakwood)
1st:  Bujar Haziri (Oakwood), Ethan Frattick (Bismark-Henning-Rossville-Alvin)

V. DACC Scholarship Winners
This year Danville Area Community College awarded a scholarship to the two highest ranking seniors competing in Academic Challenge.  These scholarships cover 24 credit hours at DACC.  This year’s winners were:  Kelsey Blackford (Armstrong) and Ethan Richards (Westville)