Basic Skills

Basic Skills


The Developmental Education department is dedicated to providing students with the basic skills necessary for success in college course work and real-world job settings. We provide instruction in basic college mathematics, basic grammar and writing skills, and reading strategies and study skills.

These non-degree credit courses offer students the unique opportunity to refresh and/or supplement the essential foundation skills before moving into college credit coursework. Class sizes are limited to 18 to ensure students can receive the help they need to succeed and are offered in both traditional classroom formats as well as online instruction formats.

We recognize that not all students come to college with the same level of skills nor do they progress at the same pace. In order to address this serious issue, we have developed basic skills online courses as an optional alternative delivery method for students in the areas of Mathematics; English Grammar and Writing; and Study Skills, Reading Strategies / Vocabulary Development.

These courses have been designed in modules, so students can build upon individual skill sets to best suit their needs.  These courses are open entry in order to provide instruction when students need it.

Math Courses | Reading Courses | English Courses

Who Can Benefit

  • Students who need to strengthen academic skills
  • Students who discover"holes" in their knowledge base at mid-term
  • Students who need review prior to important assessment tests
  • Students who find they need to supplement their semester credit hours load

For more information, you may contact

Phillip Langley, Lead Instructor, Developmental Education
217-554-1665
plangley@dacc.edu

or

Stacy Ehmen, Director of Enrollment Services
217-443-8800
stacy@dacc.edu

Developmental Education Division Faculty

Phillip Langley, Lead Instructor
Cannon Hall, Room 204
217-554-1665
plangley@dacc.edu
English grammar and writing instruction
Barbara Weldon
Cannon Hall, Room 214
217-443-8732
bweldon@dacc.edu
Basic Mathematics and Pre-Algebra instruction
Phil Coate
Cannon Hall, Room 203
pcoate@dacc.edu
Basic Mathematics instruction
Heidi Crane
Cannon Hall, Room 203
217-443-8750 ext. 311
heidilcrane@aol.com
Reading and Study Skills instruction
William Lindemann
wlindemann@dacc.edu
Basic Mathematics instruction
Laura Hensgen
217-443-8561
lhensgen@dacc.edu
Reading and Study Skills instruction
Carol Ramloff
217-443-8750 ext. 365
cramloff@dacc.edu
Basic Mathematics and Pre-Algebra instruction
Patrick (Mark) Switzer
Cannon Hall, Room 203
pswitzer@dacc.edu
Reading and Study Skills instruction
Krista Witsman
kwitsman@dacc.edu
English grammar instruction
 
Gina Harris
Cannon Hall, Room 203
gharris@dacc.edu
English grammar instruction
 
Patti Miller
Cannon Hall, Room 203
pmiller@dacc.edu
English grammar instruction
Reading and Study Skills instruction
 
Jane Creason
Cannon Hall, Room 203
jcreason@dacc.edu
English grammar instruction
 

 

Upcoming Events

Previous Pause Next